top of page
Writer's pictureMadison S.

Designing My Dreamhouse

Within the last week, I have had the pleasure of using a 3D design website called Tinkercad to design my dream house, as well as actually printing it with a 3D printer! However, before we started designing our dream houses, we explored Tinkercad by playing with the basic shapes to create simpler designs and figure out how to change them to our liking.


An image of the design I created while exploring Tinkercad.
Practice

After we explored and became accustomed with the Tinkercad system, we proceeded to design our dream houses using only the basic shapes that Tinkercad provided. I had never created a digital 3D design before, so it was very interesting and I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly I was able to learn the system as I designed my house. My process is pictured below!


Next, we learned how to download our design and open it in a program called Cura, in which we scaled our designs to a certain size by changing the largest number to 45 and changing any number below 15 to 15, followed by transferring it to an SD card and moving it to the 3D printer to be printed.


The 3D print of my dream house.
My Dream House

I greatly enjoyed learning how to use Tinkercad and the 3D printer and I plan to continue exploring them in order to learn more about digital 3D design, perhaps even using them as part of my final project. Furthermore, I want to enhance my skills with this because, as we become more technologically advanced, art classrooms are more likely to have 3D printers and it would be useful for me to have the knowledge to use them so that I may teach my future students how to use them, as well.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page