top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison S.

Toy Take Apart: From A Plain Stuffed Puppy to a Child's Functional Flashlight

In this week's Toy Take Apart activity, we explored different toys and how they worked, followed by adding new elements that we learned about in our previous material inquiries. We started by sketching our toy from different angles as we asked ourselves, "How is it made?" (My toy and sketches are pictured below!)

Next, we were tasked with taking our toy apart, figuring out how it worked, and implementing new technology that we learned about in our previous material inquiries. I chose to replace the eyes of my stuffed dog with LEDs and connect them to a sew-able switch that holds the battery. (My process is pictured below!)

With help from a friend, I was able to sew my components into the dog with the switch on the back end and the LEDs replacing the eyes connected by wires within the dog's body. The biggest challenge was making sure I correctly wired and the connected the LEDs and switch so that they would work properly once the open parts of the dog were sewn back together, but, through trial and error, I was able to do so. The end result turned out to resemble a flashlight, perfect for children to keep nightmares at bay!

The end result of my toy take apart material inquiry.
My Puppy Flashlight

Now, I hope to continue my exploration of toys and how they work, as well as other materials, so that I may be better equipped to teach my future students. In the technological era that we live in, it is important for children to learn how things work, from toys to computers, as they become more advanced, and it is my job as a future art teacher to help them explore along the way.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page